Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Titan35

Titan35

Question

Is it a penalty for a lineman that gets down in 3 point stands and then stands back up while the QB is getting the play signaled in from the sideline?  To better explain the question, QB acts as if he is ready for the snap then looks over at the sideline. At that time the lineman stands back up.

Edited by Titan35

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

If he's an interior lineman by position (not on the end), once he puts his hand on the ground he's locked in. If teams commonly do this they don't have their linemen get into a 3-point stance. If they are in a 2-point stance they can stand up and look to the sideline. If an interior lineman in a 3-point stance removes his hand from the ground, he's guilty of a false start.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
15 minutes ago, Titan35 said:

Is it a penalty for a lineman that gets down in 3 point stands and then stands back up while the QB is getting the play signaled in from the sideline?  To better explain the question, QB acts as if he is ready for the snap then looks over at the sideline. At that time the lineman stands back up.

It can be. The foul would be for a false start. What is important is what happened before the lineman went down in his 3 pt. stance. It used to be very clear, but now it's a little less clear. The rule book reads that it is a false start if, after the ball is marked ready for play and before the snap begins, any offensive player located on the LOS and between the snapper and the player on the end of the line, after having placed a hand on or near the ground, moves his hand, or makes any quick movement. Now that we've gone to the 40 second play clock, there are many plays where the ball is never marked ready for play. Instead, now it is generally accepted that those false start restrictions begin when the snapper places a hand or hands on the ball. So, once the snapper does so, restricted linemen who have gone into a 3 pt. stance cannot lift their hand from the ground. If they do, it's a false start.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×