Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
falconsfbref

Titans QB pass play

Question

I think most of us saw the Mariotta play when he passed...ball batted by defender, Mariotta catches it and runs for a TD.

 

So, got me thinking....HS rules.....

1.  Ball is snapped at 40 yard line.  QB A11 is in shotgun formation, scrambles and throws a pass from the 43.  It is a bad throw, hits lineman A76 in the back of the head at the 40.  The ball goes into air and QBA11 catches ball at the 35 and runs for a TD.  

2.  Same play as above...but after ball hits A76 in back of head, A55 catches ball at the 40 and runs for 10 yards.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

8 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

In order for the passer or an ineligible receiver to legally catch a forward pass it must first be touched by a defender.   Illegal touching, 5 yard penalty and loss of down. 

Edited by fbofficial

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
2 hours ago, fbofficial said:

In order for the passer or an ineligible receiver to legally catch a forward pass it must first be touched by a defender.   Illegal touching, 5 yard penalty and loss of down. 

Is the passer an ineligible receiver?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Good point Bison. 

In reviewing the rule book 7-5-13 it's illegal touching if an ineligible A player bats, muffs or catches a legal forward pass unless first touched by B.  The passer would be one of the 6 eligible players assuming a formation with 7 on LOS.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
15 hours ago, fbofficial said:

Good point Bison. 

In reviewing the rule book 7-5-13 it's illegal touching if an ineligible A player bats, muffs or catches a legal forward pass unless first touched by B.  The passer would be one of the 6 eligible players assuming a formation with 7 on LOS.

Are you sure its illegal touching if the ball just hits the back of the lineman's head?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
54 minutes ago, falconsfbref said:

Are you sure its illegal touching if the ball just hits the back of the lineman's head?

Getting hit in the back of head is not bat, muff or catch in that senerio so no it wouldn't be a foul, although that was called in the state title game???

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, falconsfbref said:

Are you sure its illegal touching if the ball just hits the back of the lineman's head?

It is in scenario #2 where A55 then catches the pass.   

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
12 minutes ago, fbofficial said:

It is in scenario #2 where A55 then catches the pass.   

Ball does not cross the line of scrimmage on the pass...or does it matter?  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
50 minutes ago, falconsfbref said:

Ball does not cross the line of scrimmage on the pass...or does it matter?  

Doesn't matter.  An ineligible receiver can not bat, muff, or catch a legal forward pass unless first touched by B.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×