Jump to content
Head Coach Openings 2024 ×
  • Current Donation Goals

    • Raised $2,576 of $3,600 target
  • 0

Mess in California



4 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
32 minutes ago, gindie said:

You will note that, at the end of the game, the Referee will hold the ball over his head. When he does that, the game is over. The officials retain jurisdiction to perform certain administrative responsibilities, and can even retroactively disqualify a player or coach, if warranted. But they can’t reverse a no-call, come back out on the field, and play another down. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

Very unfortunate. This is actually really hard to catch on the field. You have to remember which players were lined up in ineligible positions. The snapper should be the easiest one because as an umpire you pay special attention to this number and confirm them every play. On tries and FGs he may be the only ineligible player with an eligible number. If you have any doubt about this as a crew don't leave the field until you discuss it. You put the CIF in a position where they can't change anything without setting a really bad precedent. I feel horrible for the losing team, but nobody feels worse than that crew especially knowing they had an opportunity to correct it but didn't do it at the time.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...