Jump to content
Head Coach Opening 2019 Read more... ×
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
cw13

Free Blocking Zone w/ Shotgun

Question

QB is aligned at 4 yds. from the ball. At the snap he will attack the snap stepping toward the LOS in order to mesh with the TB on the triple option. By the time he receives the snap the QB is at 3 yds.........can the OL still cut in the free blocking zone?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

7 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Nobody has a measuring stick out there to get that picky. If you are in shotgun the ball is most likely to be considered out of the free blocking zone immediately at the snap. That allows the linemen to cut other linemen if it's immediate with NO delay. That includes a reach block or if he has to step into the defender to reach him. This is all subject to change as there were several rule change proposals last year that I expect to return this year.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

but as of right now if the scoop block cut is immediately we are good, correct?

now we await any rules changes

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
3 minutes ago, cw13 said:

but as of right now if the scoop block cut is immediately we are good, correct?

now we await any rules changes

That's right. The current interpretation of the rule is that blocking below the waist in the FBZ, provided all other requirements have been met, is legal if the block is immediate at the snap. Any delay, and it's a foul as the ball is deemed to have left the FBZ.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

just checking again. the free blocking zone allows for cut blocking and not clipping, correct? if in gun what constitute cutting immediately especially with the QB inside 4 yds when he catches the snap and meshes with the TB

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, cw13 said:

just checking again. the free blocking zone allows for cut blocking and not clipping, correct? if in gun what constitute cutting immediately especially with the QB inside 4 yds when he catches the snap and meshes with the TB

Clipping in the FBZ was declared illegal in a 2016 rule change.

Edited by bobref

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

refresh me on cut blocking when in shotgun: QB aligns at 4 yds and steps forward to receive the snap; meshes with dive back at 3yds; what is the rule for cut blocking?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
7 minutes ago, cw13 said:

refresh me on cut blocking when in shotgun: QB aligns at 4 yds and steps forward to receive the snap; meshes with dive back at 3yds; what is the rule for cut blocking?

Bison's post up above is a very complete answer.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×