Jump to content
  • 0

Holding down field by punting team?


Flounder88
 Share

Question

Seemed a little strange this past week when I saw a team punt when it was 4th and 20ish and a flag came out for holding by the punt team down field.  It was a great punt and pinned the other team down by their own 10.  After the officials talked it out, they took the ball back to midfield and moved it approximately 10 yards forward of previous LOS (about 10 back from flag).  Signaled for 4th down again and the punting team ran out the offense to go for it.  The receiving team called a timeout to discuss it with the officials and were forced to take the ball where the ball rolled out on the punt.  With the holding being downfield, could this possibly be the correct call by the officials?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
19 minutes ago, Flounder88 said:

Seemed a little strange this past week when I saw a team punt when it was 4th and 20ish and a flag came out for holding by the punt team down field.  It was a great punt and pinned the other team down by their own 10.  After the officials talked it out, they took the ball back to midfield and moved it approximately 10 yards forward of previous LOS (about 10 back from flag).  Signaled for 4th down again and the punting team ran out the offense to go for it.  The receiving team called a timeout to discuss it with the officials and were forced to take the ball where the ball rolled out on the punt.  With the holding being downfield, could this possibly be the correct call by the officials?

Assuming the holding foul took place during the kick, here’s how the penalty is enforced:

This is a foul by the offense during a loose ball play. Basic spot for enforcement is the previous spot. The receiving team can decline the penalty and take the ball where it became dead (you’ll see why they would never do that in a second), or they can enforce 10 yds. back from the spot of the snap, and replay the down. … Or they can elect to have the 10 yd. penalty assessed from the dead ball spot, and have the ball 1st and 10 there.

May I ask which game this was?

Edited by Bobref
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...