Jump to content
The Gridiron Digest
  • 0

Man In Motion


Alduflux
 Share

Question

What happens in the following scenario. 

Offense gets set.  A man goes in motion and is moving towards the LOS at the snap.  A flag is thrown at the snap.  The ball is handed off to the RB for a twenty yard gain.

My question is when should the official blow the whistle?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 answer to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
1 hour ago, Alduflux said:

What happens in the following scenario. 

Offense gets set.  A man goes in motion and is moving towards the LOS at the snap.  A flag is thrown at the snap.  The ball is handed off to the RB for a twenty yard gain.

My question is when should the official blow the whistle?

This is a live ball foul. Play continues. After the down ends the defense has the option of the result of the play, or 5 yd. penalty from the previous spot and replay the down.

Now, if this is a case where a man in motion suddenly cuts sharply toward the line of scrimmage just prior to the snap, there is a school of thought that treats this as a false start, since what happens is essentially the man in motion starts the play before the ball is snapped. In that case, it’s a dead ball foul. Blow the whistle immediately and penalize 5 yds.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...