Head Coach Openings 2024 ×
  • Current Donation Goals

• Raised $2,716 of $3,600 target

HHF / GID Interview with East Central Head Coach Jake Meiners

Guest DT

HHF Interview with East Central Head Coach Jake Meiners

The Trojans look to once again be in the drivers seat in the EIAC, and the team is focused on winning its 20th sectional championship and making another long post season run.

Question 1
Coach, many of our readers are from northern and central Indiana and are not familiar with your background. Where are you from originally, what is your educational and playing background, and when did you decide to get into coaching? Also who were some of your key coaching mentors who helped push along the way and up the coaching ladder?
Response
I grew up in the St. Leon area and graduated from East Central in 2009. During my high school years, I played baseball, basketball, and football. On the football team, I started at quarterback for three years. I graduated from Franklin College in 2013. It was at Franklin College where I really decided that I wanted to go into coaching. My first job out of college was at Franklin County where I coached freshman and JV football and baseball. After one year at Franklin County, I returned to East Central to teach and coach football. I served several different roles on the EC staff including Associate Head Coach in 2018 before taking over as Head Coach in 2019.