Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Bobref

Overtime Rules

Question

Since we seem to be on the topic of overtime, here’s an interesting play.

Team A starts the OT procedure at the B 10 yd. line, 1st and goal. On 1st down they get a holding penalty that pushes them back to the B 26. They then throw 3 straight incompletions. On 4th and goal from the B 26, they attempt a long field goal. The kick is blocked at the LOS and goes to the B 23 where it is muffed by B19 back across the LOS and recovered at the B 28 by A4. He then (a) advances for an apparent TD, or (b) runs it down to the B 5, where he is tackled. Ruling?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

13 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

In A, TD?  Since it’s scrimmage kick formation, and we can use rule 6-2-2, the ball rebounding back behind the neutral zone allows for recovery and advancement.

 

In B, 1st and Goal for B at the 10.

if none of those are accurate, start the van...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
11 hours ago, Impartial_Observer said:

A) Touchdown for A. 

B) 1st and goal for A from B’s 5, though more than likely the 2 1/2 after you flag B’s coach;)

What gives A the ability for a new set of downs?  Would we view it the same way as a punt where R touches the ball beyond the neutral zone and K gets to keep possession with a new set of downs?  If so, I agree with your assumption of starting on the 2.5 instead of the 5.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
44 minutes ago, SoIndRef said:

What gives A the ability for a new set of downs?  Would we view it the same way as a punt where R touches the ball beyond the neutral zone and K gets to keep possession with a new set of downs?  If so, I agree with your assumption of starting on the 2.5 instead of the 5.

12-5

5-2-1: The offensive team shall be awarded a new series of downs when any one of the following occurs:

a. Offensive team recovers a scrimmage kick (field-goal attempt) between the goal lines after it has been touched first by the defensive team beyond the neutral zone.

b. Defensive team is guilty of roughing the kicker, place-kick holder, snapper or passer.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
23 hours ago, Bobref said:

Since we seem to be on the topic of overtime, here’s an interesting play.

Team A starts the OT procedure at the B 10 yd. line, 1st and goal. On 1st down they get a holding penalty that pushes them back to the B 26. They then throw 3 straight incompletions. On 4th and goal from the B 26, they attempt a long field goal. The kick is blocked at the LOS and goes to the B 23 where it is muffed by B19 back across the LOS and recovered at the B 28 by A4. He then (a) advances for an apparent TD, or (b) runs it down to the B 5, where he is tackled. Ruling?

I think c) needs to be added in as it’s a much stranger situation then b. k Player is tackled at the  21 instead of the 5

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
18 minutes ago, Huge Football Fan said:

I think c) needs to be added in as it’s a much stranger situation then b. k Player is tackled at the  21 instead of the 5

1st and goal for A at the 21.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
47 minutes ago, Impartial_Observer said:

1st and goal for A at the 21.

Now you're going to tick off A coach for not giving him a 1st and 10.... But a series starts 1st and Goal in OT.... A crew messed that up in the tournament last year.... 

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 minute ago, SoIndRef said:

Now you're going to tick off A coach for not giving him a 1st and 10.... But a series starts 1st and Goal in OT.... A crew messed that up in the tournament last year.... 

I know them well. It cost them a sectional final. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
34 minutes ago, Huge Football Fan said:

Without naming names explain the play situation 

I think there was a unsportsmanlike foul on 4th down of the 1st OT, they carried the penalty over to their opportunity on offense.  They marched them off 15 and they started 1st and 10 on the 25 when it should have been 1st and Goal from the 25.  The chains do not come out for OT.  That is how I heard it...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
10 minutes ago, SoIndRef said:

I think there was a unsportsmanlike foul on 4th down of the 1st OT, they carried the penalty over to their opportunity on offense.  They marched them off 15 and they started 1st and 10 on the 25 when it should have been 1st and Goal from the 25.  The chains do not come out for OT.  That is how I heard it...

I will add, A had 1st and 10 at the 25. A gained a first down and scored on what was actually their 7th play.

B failed to score in 4 downs, A wins after being giving three extra downs. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
2 hours ago, Impartial_Observer said:

I will add, A had 1st and 10 at the 25. A gained a first down and scored on what was actually their 7th play.

B failed to score in 4 downs, A wins after being giving three extra downs. 

The crew wasn't 100% certain they had it right on the field so they looked it up when they got to the locker room and confirmed they made a mistake. They contacted Robert immediately so he heard it from them first. He had already assigned them to a second round sectional game so they got to work that, but the sectional final assignment they were supposed to get was removed. They would have completely understood if it cost them a second round game too. That is integrity and proof that even good officials can make big mistakes. We don't have many OT games and when we do we rarely start anywhere but the 10. I think I can still count on one hand the number of OT games I've worked in almost 20 years. That's not an excuse but it helps to understand. Mistakes are the greatest teachers.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
3 hours ago, JustRules said:

The crew wasn't 100% certain they had it right on the field so they looked it up when they got to the locker room and confirmed they made a mistake. They contacted Robert immediately so he heard it from them first. He had already assigned them to a second round sectional game so they got to work that, but the sectional final assignment they were supposed to get was removed. They would have completely understood if it cost them a second round game too. That is integrity and proof that even good officials can make big mistakes. We don't have many OT games and when we do we rarely start anywhere but the 10. I think I can still count on one hand the number of OT games I've worked in almost 20 years. That's not an excuse but it helps to understand. Mistakes are the greatest teachers.

Agreed, I would assume we both got it from the horse’s mouth.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...